Are we living?

The little joys in life come unannounced and unexpectedly. You might find yourself being transported back to a time when laughter came from within, not as just a reaction; when the wind howling in your ears as you speeded on a bicycle was enough, and you didn’t need loud music beats to pump your heart faster. I experienced such exhilaration one morning recently, when I went cycling with my friends. It was a spontaneous plan (one that I was very late to) and I hadn’t given it much thought, it’d just felt like something that would be fun. But it was so much more than that.


I felt like a kid again. My 13 year old self who absolutely loved riding her bicycle everyday. I’d go round and around on the streets near my house till my legs gave out. And as I rode a bike after almost a decade (you really never forget how to ride a bicycle), I realized how I’d given up something I’d enjoyed doing so much. Then came the thought of all the other activities I’ve stopped pursuing, just simply because life happened. That was the only reason I could come up with at the time. But if I wasn’t really doing anything I truly enjoyed anymore, life really wasn’t happening at all was it? I wasn’t really living.

Over the years I’ve found myself complaining multiple times about how I’m not really doing something that I like or love. I would list a dozen reasons to blame for that if you’d ask me. But at the end of the day it all comes down to a single fact – I chose not to. It’s always a choice. I chose not to ride bicycles anymore. I chose not to draw anymore. I chose not to learn that language I’d really wanted to learn. I chose to do something else over these. And one day, I might not have the choice anymore; one day I might not have the privilege of time. All I would have, would be regrets.

I don’t want that for myself. I’m sure you wouldn’t want it for yourself either. So do what you enjoy, do what makes you happy. Life may or may not be short, but it’s too precious a gift to waste either way. No matter how annoying the acronym ‘YOLO’ may sound, that does not undermine the truth and depth of the fact that you truly do live only once. So sing, dance, play that game, join the drama club, learn that music instrument you’ve always wanted to, start swimming again, pick up that bicycle collecting dust and catching rust in your backyard and go out for a ride, because life, is made of these little joys, let’s make the most of it.

Ex animo,
Dodo

Leave a Reply

